Vassar Student Association

Majors' Committees

Welcome! Below you can find the directory of Majors' Committees, and email addresses to get in touch. Each committee has an annually elected Chair and any number of interested at-large members, working tirelessly and selflessly to improve the lot of current and potential majors. The committees are responsible for holding departmental social events and get-togethers, and providing a space for majors to get to know one another. They represent the department or program at academic functions like the majors fairs, and nominate peer advisors every year. They also act as a resource for students curious about the major, JYA programs, professors, classes, speakers and lecturers, and senior work in the field. Don't hesitate to email them if you have any questions at all.

Name Committee Chair Email
Africana Studies Program Stephanie George (Intern) majors.africana@vassar.edu
American Culture Program Hannah Ellman (Intern) majors.american@vassar.edu
Anthropology Department Emma Elbaum majors.anthropology@vassar.edu
Art Department majors.art@vassar.edu
Asian Studies Program Julia Martin majors.asian@vassar.edu
Astronomy Department, Physics and majors.physics@vassar.edu
Biochemistry Program Pedro Sepulveda majors.biochemistry@vassar.edu
Biology Department Kevin Lee majors.biology@vassar.edu
Chemistry Department Morgan Howe and Catherine Howe majors.chemistry@vassar.edu
Chinese and Japanese Program majors.chinesejapanese@vassar.edu
Cognitive Science Program Ben Morse and Ben Wills majors.cogsci@vassar.edu
Computer Science Department Carl Chen and Maxwell Hoffman majors.compsci@vassar.edu
Drama Department Justin Myhre majors.drama@vassar.edu
Earth Science and Geography Department majors.earthsci@vassar.edu
Economics Department David Rosenkranz majors.economics@vassar.edu
Education Department Anna Schossler (Intern) majors.education@vassar.edu
English Department Emma Petrarca majors.english@vassar.edu
Environmental Studies Program Joanna Barnett majors.environmental@vassar.edu
Film Department majors.film@vassar.edu
French and Francophone Studies Department Charlotte Andrews and Vera Lee majors.french@vassar.edu
German Studies Department Ian Edwards majors.german@vassar.edu
Greek and Roman Studies Justin Hayes and Zebulon Wimsatt majors.grst@vassar.edu
Hispanic Studies Department Annais Paccione and Emma kading majors.hispanic@vassar.edu
History Department Mckenzie Quinn majors.history@vassar.edu
Independent Program majors.independent@vassar.edu
International Studies Program Alex Gros majors.international@vassar.edu
Italian Department Jesse Peters majors.italian@vassar.edu
Jewish Studies Program majors.jewish@vassar.edu
Latin American and Latino/a Studies Program Leeja Millers (Intern) majors.lals@vassar.edu
Mathematics Department majors.mathematics@vassar.edu
Media Studies Program Matthew Ortile majors.media@vassar.edu
Medieval and Renaissance Studies Program majors.medren@vassar.edu
Music Department Stephanie Goldberg and Hallie Stotler majors.music@vassar.edu
Neuroscience and Behavior Program majors.neuroscience@vassar.edu
Philosophy Department John Nguyen and Janet Kanzawa (interns) majors.philosophy@vassar.edu
Political Science Department Muriel Bruttin majors.polisci@vassar.edu
Psychology Department Allison Gayo and Chelsea Bocagno majors.psychology@vassar.edu
Religion Connor Martini majors.religion@vassar.edu
Russian Studies Department Jasmyn Murdich majors.russian@vassar.edu
Science, Technology and Society Program Hannah Root majors.sts@vassar.edu
Sociology Department Akeel St. Vil majors.sociology@vassar.edu
Urban Studies Program majors.urban@vassar.edu
Victorian Studies Program Matthew Dowling majors.victorian@vassar.edu
Women's Studies Program Jessica Coles majors.womens@vassar.edu

Academic

Academic Departments
Catalogue
Field Work
Frances Lehman Loeb Art Center
Library
Majors Committees
Moodle
Peer Advising

Student Life

Athletics
Bookstore
Campus Activities
CIE Audit
Campus Dining
Navigating Vassar
Student Handbook
Residential Life

Resources

Career Development
Computing
Counseling
Health Services
InfoSite
Office Directory
Security
VCard