Vassar Student Association

Majors' Committees

Welcome! Below you can find the directory of Majors' Committees, and email addresses to get in touch. Each committee has an annually elected Chair and any number of interested at-large members, working tirelessly and selflessly to improve the lot of current and potential majors. The committees are responsible for holding departmental social events and get-togethers, and providing a space for majors to get to know one another. They represent the department or program at academic functions like the majors fairs, and nominate peer advisors every year. They also act as a resource for students curious about the major, JYA programs, professors, classes, speakers and lecturers, and senior work in the field. Don't hesitate to email them if you have any questions at all.

Name Committee Chair Email
Africana Studies Program majors.africana@vassar.edu
American Culture Program majors.american@vassar.edu
Anthropology Department Christine Torres and Jay Reist majors.anthropology@vassar.edu
Art Department Sophie Asakura and Kit Durr majors.art@vassar.edu
Asian Studies Program Maya Hawkins majors.asian@vassar.edu
Astronomy Department, Physics and Gagandeep Anand and Simon Patane majors.physics@vassar.edu
Biochemistry Program George Beyer majors.biochemistry@vassar.edu
Biology Department majors.biology@vassar.edu
Chemistry Department Ben Slaw and Taylor Quinn majors.chemistry@vassar.edu
Chinese and Japanese Program majors.chinesejapanese@vassar.edu
Cognitive Science Program majors.cogsci@vassar.edu
Computer Science Department majors.compsci@vassar.edu
Drama Department Jessie Lanza majors.drama@vassar.edu
Earth Science Department Katie Ewen majors.earthsci@vassar.edu
Economics Department majors.economics@vassar.edu
Education Department Leo Torres (Intern) and Samantha Basch majors.education@vassar.edu
English Department Nick Rueda-Sabater (Intern) majors.english@vassar.edu
Environmental Studies Program Sarah Yanuck majors.environmental@vassar.edu
Film Department majors.film@vassar.edu
French and Francophone Studies Department Julia Fitzgerald and Filippa Olsson Skalin majors.french@vassar.edu
German Studies Department Anna Brashear and Nicole Luche majors.german@vassar.edu
Greek and Roman Studies Sean McCoy and Amreen Bhasin majors.grst@vassar.edu
Hispanic Studies Department majors.hispanic@vassar.edu
History Department Sophia Rutkin majors.history@vassar.edu
Independent Program majors.independent@vassar.edu
International Studies Program majors.international@vassar.edu
Italian Department Allegra Robertson majors.italian@vassar.edu
Jewish Studies Program majors.jewish@vassar.edu
Latin American and Latino/a Studies Program majors.lals@vassar.edu
Mathematics Department Anthony Graves-McCleary majors.mathematics@vassar.edu
Media Studies Program majors.media@vassar.edu
Medieval and Renaissance Studies Program Rani Gold and Noah Ross majors.medren@vassar.edu
Music Department majors.music@vassar.edu
Neuroscience and Behavior Program Konrad Ben majors.neuroscience@vassar.edu
Philosophy Department majors.philosophy@vassar.edu
Political Science Department majors.polisci@vassar.edu
Psychology Department majors.psychology@vassar.edu
Religion majors.religion@vassar.edu
Russian Studies Department majors.russian@vassar.edu
Science, Technology and Society Program Heather Ingraham majors.sts@vassar.edu
Sociology Department Emilia Plater-Zyberk (Intern) and Nicole Wong majors.sociology@vassar.edu
Urban Studies Program majors.urban@vassar.edu
Victorian Studies Program Ruby Pierce and Joanna Weiss majors.victorian@vassar.edu
Women's Studies Program majors.womens@vassar.edu
Geography Department Hannah Snyder-Samuelson majors.earthsci@vassar.edu

Academic

Academic Departments
Catalogue
Field Work
Frances Lehman Loeb Art Center
Library
Majors Committees
Moodle
Peer Advising

Student Life

Athletics
Bookstore
Campus Activities
CIE Audit
Campus Dining
Navigating Vassar
Student Handbook
Residential Life

Resources

Career Development
Computing
Counseling
Health Services
InfoSite
Office Directory
Security
VCard